External Competitions

Upcoming Competitions

In the past, we have entered into the following competitions:


Active Competitions

Below are some of the competitions that our University has been confirmed enrolment into for this academic year, each represented by some of our top mooters.

  • ESU-Essex Court Chambers National Mooting Competition: Derrick Tan and Vlad P. Sulea 
  • OUP & BPP National Mooting Competition: Shree Ziradkar and Chris Marquis
  • UKLSA Annual National Advocacy/Moot Competition: Emiliano Cortes Morichetti and Maelle Abgrall
  • Landmark Chambers Moot: Nabeel Moallem and Casey Dorey 
  • Inner Temples Moot: Lena Touchard and Chris Marquis
  • The University of Leicester Medical Law Moot: Jeremy Elliot and Anna McCormack 
  • FTB Kingsland Cup Mooting Competition: Charlotte Kouo and Fran Vaughan
  • LSE-Featherstone Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Moot: Derrick Tan and Jeremy Elliot (TBC)
  • The UKELA Student Prize Moot Competition: Charlotte Kouo and Shree Ziradkar (TBC)
  • Herbert Smith Freehills National Corporate Law Moot: (TBC)



Spectators will be welcome for all our home competitions and to away competitions if you are willing to travel to them.

In the law reception and online you will be able to find up-to-date results of how each team is progressing through the competition.

For those of you competing in the internal competitions this year you may have a chance to compete next year!

How to Qualify as an External Mooter

Typically mooters that have performed well in the internal competitions (i.e. semi-finalists and above) will be selected by the Master and Mistress of the Moots and offered the opportunity to represent the University in external competitions. Selected mooters will be invited to an interview, where they will be required to work through a moot problem in order to allow assessment of their analytical skills.


This university has a long and rich history with competing externally including winning the ESU competition and very recently having finalists and semi finalists in OUP and ESU. Also this year (2016) we won the Herbert Smith Freehills National Corporate Law Moot.


For more information, please contact our Master and Mistress of the Moots, Derrick Tan (dwxt1@student.le.ac.uk) and Tabitha Brown (tmib1@student.le.ac.uk).